How Will Hillary Get Past Obama?

As a Democrat, it’s in my DNA to be pessimistic about presidential politics. Most of the candidates I supported in the general election were favored to win, but then later went on to be defeated for inexplicable reasons (Gore “lost” because he sighed during his first debate with Bush, Kerry lost because he “looked French”).

As far as my votes in primaries, I have an even more dismal record at picking a winning candidate (in order, my primary votes have been for Jackson, Simon, Brown, Bradley, and Dean), so even when it looks like Obama pretty much has the math locked up to be our nominee this year, part of me is certain that something will happen to allow Clinton to steal it from him.

I was especially pessimistic last week and into this week over the Wright controversy, but even though it looks like that might be behind him, I’m still wondering how Clinton will somehow become the nominee.

In today’s Times Maureen Dowd was nice enough to remind me that I’m not alone in that thinking:

It is a tribute to Hillary Clinton that even though, rationally, political soothsayers think she can no longer win, irrationally, they wonder how she will pull it off.

It’s impossible to imagine The Terminator, as a former aide calls her, giving up. Unless every circuit is out, she’ll regenerate enough to claw her way out of the grave, crawl through the Rezko Memorial Lawn and up Obama’s wall, hurl her torso into the house and brutally haunt his dreams.

“It’s like one of those movies where you think you know the end, but then you watch with your fingers over your eyes,” said one leading Democrat.

I’m afraid that I won’t believe Obama will be the nominee until he walks out of the convention in Denver as the Democratic nominee. And even then, I still won’t believe it.

Leave a Reply

