Obama the Elitist?

You’ve probably been hearing about this new firestorm surrounding some remarks of Barack Obama’s at a fund raiser in Marin County:

“So it’s not surprising then that they get bitter, they cling to guns or religion or antipathy to people who aren’t like them or anti-immigrant sentiment or anti-trade sentiment as a way to explain their frustrations,” Mr. Obama said, according to a transcript that appeared Friday on the Hufington Post Web site.

Predictably, the Clinton and McCain camps went apeshit:

“It’s being reported that my opponent said that the people of Pennsylvania who faced hard times are bitter. Well, that’s not my experience,” Mrs. Clinton told an audience at Drexel University. “Pennsylvanians don’t need a president who looks down on them, they need a president who stands up for them, who fights for them, who works hard for your futures, your jobs, your families.”

Snip

“It shows an elitism and condescension towards hardworking Americans that is nothing short of breathtaking,” said Steve Schmidt, a senior adviser to Mr. McCain. “It is hard to imagine someone running for president who is more out of touch with average Americans.”

It was a perfect time for the other campaigns to spew fake outrage as has become so common in this campaign. Fake outrage is very much in vogue this election season, probably as campaigns have taken the lead from masters of fake outrage like Sean Hannity, Bill O’Reilly, Michelle Malkin. If Barack Obama is perceived to have thought or said something the least bit controversial, you can expect Geraline Ferraro or one of her ilk to express outrage and twist the situation.

I largely agree with what Obama was expressing, but I was worried about the potential damage those words could have on the campaign until I read and then saw Obama’s response:

“No, I’m in touch. I know exactly what’s going on. I know what’s going on in Pennsylvania, I know what’s going on in Indiana, I know what’s going on in Illinois,” Mr. Obama said, his voice rising. “People are fed up, they’re angry, they’re frustrated, they’re bitter and they want to see a change in Washington. That’s why I’m running for president of the United States of America.”

To get the full effect of his response, watch this:

Sure, the 527s are going to go after him on this one, just like they will on Wright, but I say, much as George Bush would: “Bring it on!”

6 responses to “Obama the Elitist?

  1. people have a right to believe his excuses if they choose to, this is the GREAT USA (hear that Michelle?)..but I have been watching this guy for a while now…and he is out of touch, he is arrogant, he and his wife have a great sense of entitlement and he is not known for chooseing honorable cohorts. Now add that he is a pea green 1st term junior senator who likes to vote “present” so he can jump on others for what he calls bad votes and we have a big problem. Look at the state our country is in…guys come on..we need a smart, tough, experienced leader who has paid thier dues. He is too busy putting his hand out for the freebies. I’m going with Mrs. Clinton. Obama scares me silly! Thanks for listening.

  2. Happy-

    What was it about Obama’s comments that offended you? Did you watch the video I attached?

    What cohorts of Obama are not honorable? Rev. Wright? Have you listened to Wright’s remarks in context, or are you just watching the 30 second sound bytes the media shows you?

    Have you taken the time to watch Michelle’s remarks in context?

    Is it possible to vote “present” in the US Senate, or are you referring to that tactic in the Illinois Senate?

    In what ways is Obama out of touch? Are you upset that he is a bad bowler?

    Obama is putting his hand out for freebies? Please explain.

    Hillary Clinton will not get my vote in the primary and if she gets the nomination, I may or may not vote for her (and I’m a life-long Democrat who has been voting since 1984).

    What is it that you like about 28 years of two-family rule in this country( 36 years if you count Bush Sr.’s time as VP).

    Is the only valid experience for a president Washington experience?

    If spending many years in Washington is all that counts, let’s elect John fucking McCain… he’s been in DC longer than Hillary or Barack.

    And Obama is out of touch for suggesting that voters are bitter about the state of this nation’s economy and the inability of its leaders to bring jobs to places like Ohio, Indiana, and Pennsylvania?

    You don’t think some of those angry voters turn to wedge issues like immigration, and gay marriage because they don’t think Washington politicians will do anything about economic issues?

    I look forward to your response as I don’t understand what 50% of the Democratic party is thinking in its support of Clinton who promises us nothing more than 4-8 more years of bitterness and gridlock.

  3. I disagree only in that I will vote for Clinton if she gets the nomination. I do think that she’d be much better than McCain on issues but beyond that, the next president will have SCOTUS nominations. But as to the rest, I haven’t heard a single thing that indicated to me that Obama is out of touch. He seems to be brilliant, informed and very much in touch with what ails us. Is Michelle and/or any of Obama’s top advisors working with in favor of a free trade deal with Colombia? If so, I haven’t heard about it.

    Senator Clinton sends out very mixed signals about how in/out of touch she is with the concerns of average Americans. This isn’t new. It’s been going on from before her presidential bid. She’s my Senator. As her constituent I’ve e-mailed her with questions about her positions on various matters. Whether I got an answer seemed to depend on the issue. I got a quick and reassuring answer on the subject of net neutrality and none at all on the subject of trade, for example.

  4. Good Morning Raford, brief history:lifelong Democrat since 1967, working pro-bono for the party since 1971, served for many yrs on united Black Co-elition (yes, as a white woman), marched with Dr. King and believe deeply in civil rights. I consider it a DUTY to be as informed as I can be and don’t bite on sound bytes.
    Raford, I have spent hour after hour researching every thing I have seen and heard over the past few months. From my view it got MORE frightening when I researched the comments of Wright, Michelle Obama and Obama himself. But thats my view.
    I think thier (his and hers) pro quid deals…his earmarks that doubled her salary (not to mention a side $100,000.00 deal that hurts their own people), and the Rezko deals are an example of what insiders are calling thier gross sense of entitlement. I think that could be a big problem. And at my age I have learned to watch the person as well. I saw Hillary after a crushing blow. She went outside with a smile and talked with her supporters and let them talk and hug her. She showed class and respect. If anyone might have thought they were “owed” something it might be the person who has worked for civil rights for 35 yrs and the people of the USA. But I saw none of that. What I DID see (when he got crushed) was stalking off with an angered and twisted face, later saying…he does not get it, she just keeps on ticking. Who in hell does he think he is? Let him pay his dues. He was a jr. Senator for 12 months when he began to lay groundwork to run for President! Hillary promised when she ran on her FIRST term that she would not leave to run for Pres. As a New Yorker I appreciated her keeping her word. Sorry, but I feel he as a lot of growing up to do. And that’s the BEST I can say for him, because I don’t know if growing up will fix his sense of entitlement, poor judgement and racism. I pray it does. I still fight for civil rights and against racism, but I also know that sadly, racism comes in all colors. I don’t think Obama joined his church and stayed there out of ignorance. He knew that they chose Louis Farrakhan as their Man of The year, he knew the hate and bias that was preached from that pulpit on Sundays. I think he has a big problem and if he gets elected, the PEOPLE of the great USA will be the ones to suffer.
    Thank you for your views, but these are mine. I wish you well.

  5. Zenyenta-

    Yeah, you’re right about voting for Clinton if she gets the nomination….I probably will break down and vote for her for no other reason than the SCOTUS.

    And the funny thing about the whole “out of touch elitist” meme being thrown against Obama is that it’s such a right-wing frame to use against Democrats — remember when they said that Kerry “looked French” and that was a reason to not vote for him?

    What’s troubling is that Clinton is using that same frame against him and is now off doing shots in an Indiana bar to show that she’s no elitist. Oh, and her daddy taught her how to hunt. What a joke.

    And I agree that both of the Obamas seem to “get it” when it comes to what’s going on with the American people.

  6. Happy-

    I appreciate your thoughtful response. You and I have very different opinions on Obama and Clinton, and while I don’t think those differences are superficial, I think in the end, we’re probably on the same side on most issues.

    If Obama gets the nomination and wins the White House, I think you will be proven wrong. If Clinton gets the nomination and becomes president, I hope I am proven to be wrong about her.

Leave a Reply

