Obama in Indiana

I think we’ve been through my arguments as to why Obama has a good chance to win Indiana.

To recap: Indiana borders IL and Obama has not yet lost a state directly connected to IL; Obama’s poll numbers here are looking good, as the last one I saw had Obama up by 5 here; IN Democrats spent much of the 90s in family barbecues hearing how horrible the Clintons were, so IN Dems have little love for Hillary.

And a new one, that I think it quite valid:

The gun and church people who voted for Hillary in PA became Republicans in Indiana long ago.

Oh, and I think I just decided to take incompletes in most of my classes and put off the graduate assistantship’s final projects to spend 20+ hours a week for the next two weeks to help ensure that Obama wins Indiana.

What difference does it make if I finish my degree on May 10 or June 10?

10 responses to “Obama in Indiana

  1. Oh, that’s real devotion. No one can say you’re not doing what you can. Good luck to you, Obama and all of us out here!

  2. Damn! You are my hero! 🙂

  3. PS: Let me know if I can help in any way. I don’t have the flexibility that I had during the Dean days, but I can probably squeeze in a few hours here and there to help Obama. And I have an adorable 3-year-old who says “Barack Obama’s going to be the next president!”

  4. That’s admirable.

    I was watching the returns last night and felt like I had to do something. I live in Virginia, and Obama won here by like 26 points, so they weren’t exactly desperate for volunteers and I did very little. The Obama Virginia effort is organizing people to go to Indiana (seems like the campaign is quite bullish on North Carolina….) and I think I’m going to do it. A caravan is heading out a week from tomorrow, which gives plenty of time to plan to be out of the office for a few days.

  5. Zen, thanks! We’ll do our damnedest to end this thing in a couple of weeks!

  6. Laura, thanks!

    I’ll let you know what I hear about how things are being done. If it’s possible and if we are going to have to canvass, I think it would be fun to walk around w/you.

    My issue now is that since I live in Putnam county, the Greencastle office wants me working for them. But I know little about this county as I’m pretty Indianapolis-centric and feel comfortable there.

    But what I need to learn is whether IN Democratic rules make a vote in a rural county count more to elect delegate than urban votes. So will I have a greater influence working out of my home county or in Indianapolis.

  7. GB, do it! We need your help here, and if you come to Indiana, you’ll have a lot of fun.

    And if you’re anywhere near Indianapolis or Greencastle, let me know so we can have a few drinks.

  8. The Virginia organization is now putting together some groups to go to North Carolina – I told them just to put me wherever they need people more. Apparently they’re a little concerned about the gap narrowing in NC.

    I’m really hoping for Indianapolis – one of my best friends from college lives there, and I’d love to meet up for a few drinks!!

  9. I hope you can make it! I suspect that the campaigns will be intense here next weekend and your energy will help a lot!

    Oh, and the drinks!

Leave a Reply

