Photo of the Day

From my New Favorite Blog – Suicide Food:

I’m not a vegetarian, though I know that I really should be for a multitude of reasons that include my health, the natural environment, and concern over the treatment of the slaughtered animals. I’m just too lazy and a product of my culture to make that change just yet.

That being said, I’ve always been disturbed by advertisements for meat products that involve the animals that are going to be eaten who seem to be celebrating their own demise or the demise of a loved-one of theirs.

Why the hell should Charlie the Tuna’s feelings be hurt if he’s not good enough to be killed and have his body processed, put in a can and be a part of someone’s sandwich or casserole? Shouldn’t he celebrate the fact that StarKist will allow him to live, despite their perception of his genetic inferiority?

But seriously, go check out Suicide Food.

2 responses to “Photo of the Day

  1. OMG yes! I’m where you are regarding vegetarianism, although it’s getting a little late in the day for a meaningful switch for us. And Mr. Yenta’s diabetes makes carbs complicated. We’re still very dangerous, mostly to chickens.
    There’s a restaurant around here called the Good Steer and it used to feature a sign with a sweet faced cartoony bovine with a halo. That totally creeped me out. Oddly enough, most people go there as opposed to somewhere else for a burger because they have the best onion ring anywhere in the world. They could have had a picture of an angelic onion and it would have all been good.

  2. I’m like both of you, and have long struggled with the vegetarian issue. I want to be. I really do. Particularly after reading ‘Dominion’ by Matthew Scully – surprisingly a former Bush speechwriter. It is a truly remarkable work.

Leave a Reply

