21,000

This evening in Indianapolis, 21,000 people filled the American Legion Mall while enduring rain and a late start time to rally for Barack Obama (unfortunately, my camera’s battery died early in the evening so I don’t have any decent photos of my own).  If you’re familiar with Indianapolis, you know that kind of a turnout is unprecedented  for any candidate, much less a Democrat.

When I got to work this morning, I was surprised to learn that most of the office was going to the rally. People were really excited, which is odd, as it’s usually difficult to excite Hoosiers about much of anything. After work, we met for a couple of drinks and headed toward the rally.

When we got to its site of the rally, we had to go to the end of the line. So we walked. And walked. I’m not sure how long the line actually was, since we were lucky to run into some friends on about the 7th block of the line who welcomed us into their section of the line. But even with that advantage, we waited in line for over two hours.

When the rally finally started, Stevie Wonder played a short set of some of his classics and then Barack spoke for about an hour to fire up the crowd. It was pretty much a standard stump speech, but it was stirring.

From the speech:

This campaign is about you. This about your voice, your dreams, your struggles and your aspirations. And when this country is focused on its hopes and its aspirations instead of its fears, then thats when we are going to be able to deliver on change for every American.

Let’s GOTV!

2 responses to “21,000

  1. I’m so glad you made it to the rally. I stopped by early to check out the scene, but I had to get home. There was no way I could have hung out until 10 p.m. I guess I’m getting old. Bah!

  2. Ha! Yeah, I was surprised how tired I got just standing in line. But it was REALLY worth it!

Leave a Reply

