Hell Freezes Over: I Agree with Ann Coulter

In 1992, I was living in Washington and found myself very involved in the Democratic primary there. I ran for delegate for Jerry Brown, and found that process to be an odd one. The Brown campaign called me and asked to run for delegate simply because I had shown up at a Jerry Brown event and put my name on a piece of paper.

I knew Brown reasonably well, as I grew up in California and I thought he was a great governor. Sure, his 1992 campaign was unconventional (it pre-dated mass use of the internet, but pundits made fun of his use of an 800 number to try to get contributions that he limited at $100 per donor). He had some guy name Joe Trippi running his campaign who was quite successful working for a guy who didn’t get the nomination, but made the race more difficult for Bill Clinton than it should have been.

Eventually, I joined the Clinton fold and tried to like him even to the point of attending his inauguration.

But I always had an uneasy feeling about him. I felt that he was willing to disregard political convictions in the name of political expediency.

The Monica thing bothered me most than most Democrats, as I thought that perhaps he should have resigned over the incredible stupidity and selfishness he demonstrated at the time.

But in 2000, after a brief flirtation with Bradley, I was firmly in the Gore camp. Beyond the Florida fiasco, Gore should have won that election and would have done so easily if not for the Clinton fatigue that plagued the nation.

Think of where our country would be right now if Gore had won. 9/11 may have happened, but Gore would have committed the resources to the effort in Afghanistan to definitively defeat the Taliban and to kill or capture Bin Laden.

Instead, Bush was in power and he diverted resources from the fight in Afghanistan to attack Iraq: a country with a horrible dictator who posed absolutely no threat to the US.

In the lead-up to the Iraq war, I was in the street protesting such idiocy, but people like me were called traitors and worse simply for not being deceived by Bush and his cronies.

I worked my ass off for Dean in 2004, but alas, it was not to be. I was glad to support Kerry, who, like Clinton, voted to authorize force against Iraq, but then later admitted that was a mistake. Good people learn from mistakes.

So in 2007, Hillary Clinton announced that she was going to run for president. She refused to admit that her war vote was a mistake. Apparently, Clintons don’t make mistakes. She was defiant to anti-Iraq war Democrats in that defense.

At that moment, she became an unacceptable candidate for me for 2008.

I began to believe that Clintonian excuses for lacking a backbone on important issues was no longer acceptable.  She never deserved my vote.

But if I loathed the Clintons, I really came to disdain the O’Reillys, Hannitys, Malkins, and Coulters even more. Those people were beneath my contempt for their dishonesty.

For that reason, it was quite strange to read Coulter’s column from today:

In a Time magazine poll taken earlier this year, more than twice as many voters said Bill Clinton’s involvement in Hillary’s campaign made them less likely to vote for her as said they were more likely to vote for her. (Some even said that “having Bill Clinton around makes me less likely to vote for What’s-Her-Name.” One-third of the respondents were upset Bill didn’t call the next day, like he promised.)

So before remembering that we are now left with two dangerous choices for president — a young liberal who is friendly with terrorists or an old liberal who is friendly with Teddy Kennedy — take a moment to revel in the fact that our long national nightmare is over. It turns out getting rid of the Clintons was the change we’ve been waiting for.

Of course, Coulter’s hyperbole about Obama and McCain are silly, but getting the Clintons out of the White House IS part of the change I’ve been waiting for.

The Clintons, the DLC, Terry McAullife, and that whole triangulation mindset are some things that need to be gone from the Democratic party if we hope to build the Democratic party and elect strong leaders in our future.

2 responses to “Hell Freezes Over: I Agree with Ann Coulter

  1. In a Presidential election that should have been a “gimmee” for the Democratic party, I find it amazing that they have, once again, posted two so incredibly flawed candidates.

    Caucuses, Super Delegates, proportional splitting of States’ delegations … What a truly bizarre way of selecting a candidate! When will the party learn to stop manipulating the voting process and go with a winner-take-all process, which is more indicative of a candidate’s ability to win in the general election?

    I also find it amusing that Florida has managed to become the spotlight of controversy once again.

  2. It’s definitely a flawed process and we need to change the way we pick our nominee for 2016 (I hope that in 2012, we’re be re-electing Obama, so the primary process should matter less).

    I’m not sure how I feel about a winner-take-all system as that makes it more difficult for lesser-known candidates to build on close finishes and end up with more votes.

    But the process does have to be reformed.

Leave a Reply

