Bush Gave Up Golf for Dead Soldiers

He’s still an asshole:

For the first time, Bush revealed a personal way in which he has tried to acknowledge the sacrifice of soldiers and their families.

“I don’t want some mom whose son may have recently died to see the commander in chief playing golf,” he said. “I feel I owe it to the families to be in solidarity as best as I can with them. And I think playing golf during a war just sends the wrong signal.”

Bush said he made that decision after the August 2003 bombing of the United Nations headquarters in Baghdad, which killed Sergio Vieira de Mello, the top U.N. official in Iraq and the organization’s high commissioner for human rights.

“I remember when de Mello, who was at the U.N., got killed in Baghdad as a result of these murderers taking this good man’s life,” he said. “I was playing golf — I think I was in central Texas — and they pulled me off the golf course and I said, ‘It’s just not worth it anymore to do.’”

George, the problem isn’t that you like to play golf. Play all the golf you want. But just make sure that when veterans return from your war, they are well taken care of and have every opportunity available to them.

2 responses to “Bush Gave Up Golf for Dead Soldiers

  1. The most striking part of it to me is the last quote “It’s just not worth it anymore to do.” This to me sounds like a pouting child….if I can’t finish my round, then I don’t want to play at all.

    You’re right – still an asshole.

  2. I think the phrase ‘pouting child’ sums up Bush’s personality whenever he is on the defensive about something. It’s a strange quality for a president to have.

Leave a Reply

