El Mojito – Edited

After all of the rain we have been getting in Indiana, I was glad to relax on the deck with.it was exciting to have a dry and comfortable evening on the deck. I hope we have many more evenings like this one in the near future, free of floods, mostly.

But while being out there, I felt the need to mix one of my favorite drinks: the mojito.

To me, mojitos are like comfort food, except that they are drinks.

How do you make a good one? This is my process:

Squeeze the juice from two key limes into a glass.

Add a dash or two of simple syrup, according to taste.

Tear up four mint leaves and place them in the glass.

Muddle those ingredients.

Add ice to the rim.

Pour rum to the top of the glass.

Enjoy, use, and drink your mojito.

(On edit it seems clear that when I wrote the first version of this post, I had already had a few mojitos.)

2 responses to “El Mojito – Edited

  1. Damn, I love a mojito.

    I can’t take credit for my mojito recipe as I got it from a bartender at the El San Juan Hotel in Puerto Rico. It’s very similar to yours, but for the fact I add a splash (maybe 2 oz) of sparkling water.

    I just enjoyed these last Friday evening with my sister and her husband. Burgers off the grill with guacamole and swiss cheese and (several) mojitos = a good start to any weekend.

  2. Ah! A perfect start to a weekend!

    I might like your recipe. The others I’ve tried that use sparkling water, use the water to dilute the mojito too much and make it something like a wine cooler.

    I like that yours just uses a splash of the stuff.

Leave a Reply

