Goodbye, Jesse

As you’ve probably heard by now, Jesse Helms has died. Since I don’t want to speak ill of the dead, I’ll let his words speak for themseelves.

From a fundraising mailer:

“Your tax dollars are being used to pay for grade-school classes that teach our children that CANNIBALISM, WIFE-SWAPPING and MURDER of infants and the elderly are acceptable behavior.”

In reaction to a protest from Mexicans during a visit to Mexico:

“All Latins are volatile people. Hence, I was not surprised at the volatile reaction.”

On the University of North Carolina (UNC):

“The University of Negroes and Communists”

On gays:

“Homosexuals are weak, morally sick wretches.”

Responding to a student vigil at Duke University after MLK’s assasination:

“They should ask their parents if it would be all right for their son or daughter to marry a Negro.”

In response to criticism of a fictional character from his newspaper column that many thought was offensive:

“To rob the Negro of his reputation of thinking through a problem in his own fashion is about the same as trying to pretend that he doesn’t have a natural instinct for rhythm and for singing and dancing.”

Jesse, I can’t say that I will miss you. In the afterlife, I hope you are able to gain the wisdom you lacked in this life.

6 responses to “Goodbye, Jesse

  1. Yet another point for the side of good! Yippee!

  2. Yeah, I don’t want to dance on the guy’s grave, but ugh! The part of US history that Helms represented is going away, and I couldn’t be more happy!

  3. Did you notice that Bozo the clown died roughly the same time? Coincidence? Well… I’ve never seen both of them in a room at the same time. 🙂

  4. Terrant, ha! And what’s funny about that is that Bozo the Clown kind of looked like Jesse Helms might look in drag.

  5. My sympathies to his family, but I can’t believe that many objective and right-thinking people would think the world a better place for his having been part of it.

    I think it was Christopher Hitchens who said something along the lines of, “How many more Republicans would there be if not for Jesse Helms’ scowling visage?” So, I guess we can thank him for that much.

  6. Heh! I hadn’t heard that Hitchens’ quote. He’s so right.

Leave a Reply

