The iPhone

OK, I admit it, I’m a bit of a technophile. I love gadgets, and that’s something I don’t like about myself. It’s embarrassing to feel such love for an inanimate object.

But there. I said it.

That being said, to reward and prepare myself for the new job, I ordered an iPhone 3G a couple weeks ago and finally got it last Thursday. Upon my first use of the device, I fell in love.

I mean, what’s not to love? It’s sleek, easy to use, the quality of the calls are great, and I have the internet in my pocket, so I can win any argument at any time simply by pulling up the web sites that support my assertions. It’s an elegant device.

I also love having the ability to download 3rd party applications (software programs) that allow me to customize the phone in ways that meet my needs. I’ve added some applications that really are useful: the WordPress app is the first one that comes to mind, and I love Pandora (from the website that learns your musical preferences and creates digital radio stations that play the music that you love or might love, given your tastes), and a few other applications that are either quite useful, or just silly fun.

Many of the applications need a lot of work and don’t deliver on their promise. But I can get over that. There are a lot of great apps like Evernote and Truphone that make the apps seems worthwhile.

There are a lot of other apps that are complete trash.

But that’s OK. Download the free apps that you think will be helpful and delete the ones that suck.

On the downside —

The battery:  So far, if I use the iPhone pretty heavily through the day, it’s almost out of juice before 5:00 PM. I know they are trying to do a lot with a small device, but geez…at least allow me to get through the end of the day before I have to charge it.

The touch screen: Normally, the touch screen is great and easy to use. But if you make a sweaty call (the AC in my car is down), it’s hard to control the screen. I spoke with my sisteer today from my iPhone and after we hung up, I must have called her three times after we ended the conversation since I couldn’t get control of the phone because it was wetish.

Overall, I’m really happy to have the new phone, as it usually does what it is supposed to do and it’s so damn elegant.

It will be an asset for me when I take my new job, as it really has the ability to remind me to stay me on-task through some reminder technology. The games are really good. The GPS will be a great tool when I have to find new places.

If it’s easy for you to get or renew your cell contract, by all means, get an iPhone. If it’s a hassle for you, don’t worry about it.

8 responses to “The iPhone

  1. I am so glad to read this – I am a total gadget nut myself. I have really been toying with the idea of picking one of these up. I’ve presently got a Treo and am a complete addict. But, it’s about three years old and so clunky by today’s standards.

    The only other phone I was really considering was the Instinct – a Samsung phone with Sprint service. It’s supposed to be a pretty solid IPhone competitor. A good friend has one and totally loves it. As far as I can tell, about the only difference is that the Instinct offers audible directions with the GPS, which is kind of cool.

    Have you had good luck with the AT&T service? I’ve heard their network in some areas (it seems central Virginia might be one) leaves a bit to be desired.

    But the Pandora app alone might make me a convert.

  2. Power management isn’t very good. 1 hour of Crash Bandicott does most iPhones or Touches in. I have to take the power cord with me (I’ll probably just buy another or get a better dock for my home workstation).

    If you jailbreak your phone (I know you won’t) there are different core power management schemes that can really lengthen use time. But video, web surfing and gaming put a lot of stress on the processor and therefore the power supply.

    It would be nice if Apple fixed this or allowed some of the developer solutions to be available. But like “Copy/Paste”, Jobs doesn’t want these solutions to come from a 3rd party.

    I see a rudimentary “Copy/Paste” coming in 2.1 but no apparent change to the power management. If they can’t get this stuff right, the geek in me just wants a Terminal.

    To Gob, there isn’t really an alternate to the iPhone and the Samsung Instinct isn’t anywhere close. It may look iPhone-y but it is just a phony. The closest thing is a micro-notebook like the EeePC or other. The iPhone is mobile computing. It is easily programable with a standard development environment where the others are not. Meaning I can write a Unix program for my Unix based computer and easily change the interface in Cocoa Touch and Voilà, iPhone app! If you have ever tried to install a program on another mobile OS, you know the definition pain.

  3. GB, admittedly, the iPhone’s GPS sucks. I haven’t been lost or tried to get directions from it yet, but as far as I can tell, its best feature is to look at the blue dot the represents me while I drive on country roads. Once I start my new job, I’ll find out whether or not it’s any good.

    Also, as I understand it, the Instinct allows you to watch live TV.

    Other than that, I think the iPhone is is probably better.

    The app store allows you to download a lot of applications that may be useful to you – Pandora is great, but there are others that are fun and useful.

    ATT service is OK here. I’ve had them since I moved to the country and my calls are rarely cut off. Of course, I’m sure things might be different in VA. I usually don’t have G3 service unless I am in or near Indy, but I can deal with the slower downloads given where I live.

    I’d go for the iPhone and ATT. I don’t think you’ll regret it.

  4. mrgonz, on the battery issue, I think I’ll just deal with it by having power jacks for the phone at home and work and plug the phone in when I’m going to be in one place for more than 20 minutes. The battery does seem to charge pretty quickly.

    Oh, and I pray that Apple does introduce some kind of copy/paste function! It would help me out a lot.

  5. Well, I think I’m sold. I guess a trip to AT&T or the Apple Store will be on the agenda this weekend. The Pandora app alone would be great.

    My only concern was having so many functions tied into one device. I use my Ipod all the time in the car – is it weird to be listening to music and then have to convert over to phone, or inconvenient? Right now, I just take the call and mute the car stereo.

    With such easy access to Itunes, I’m genuinely afraid of what my monthly music expenditure will be!!!!

  6. Do it, GB! Take the plunge!

    If you can do without Pandora in your car, I’d suggest that you use your old iPod for music in the car and use the iPhone for everything else.

    Oh, and yeah, I’ve seen my iTunes expenses increase way too much! It’s way too easy to buy whatever song is in your head while you go about your day.

  7. As stupid as it may sound, now that I know it’s a possibility, I’m not sure I can do without Pandora in the car!!!!!

    I’m sold – I’ll be picking one up on Saturday!!

  8. GB, great! Let us know what you think about it!

    And I understand the need for Pandora in the car. Actually, I think it’s a brilliant idea.

    The only problem w/Pandora that I’ve seen on my iPhone is that sometimes they just play a part of a song and then move on to something else. That can be really irritating at times.

Leave a Reply

