New Job

Have you ever started a job where the challenge given to you is far greater than what you were told it was?

Did you ever have the challenge to turn the organization around to make it viable in its community again?

Have you ever panicked and thought that the new place you are working is far more dysfunctional than previously imagined?

That’s how I am feeling right now.

The situation in my new job is REALLY bad.

5 responses to “New Job

  1. Oh Dear. So sorry to hear that. Can you just fire everyone and start fresh? 🙂

  2. Boo! Sorry to hear it’s tougher than you thought it would be. I hope it’s something that you can get a grip on and turn around.

  3. Thanks, Laura and MrGonz.

    The situation is bad, and I was venting when I wrote that post.

    But on the positive side, this presents me with an opportunity to do some things quickly to make us look good.

    It should be a lot of fun for me.

    And Laura, nah. I don’t want to fire anyone. It’s not the staff’s fault that the place is so troubled. A lack of vision is what’s to blame.

    I’m working on fixing that one.

  4. Whew – tough situation. It is a significant challenge to have to turn an organization around when you’re brand new to it, and probably still trying to remember everyone’s name….

  5. GB, yep! I’m still learning their names while I’m worrying about meeting payroll.

    It’s not easy, but it’s doable.

    I just need to go out and find more money.

Leave a Reply

