It’s Biden!

I haven’t gotten my personal text message from Barack Obama yet, but this seems to confirm all the speculation:

The United States Secret Service has dispatched a protective detail to assume the immediate protection of Sen. Joseph Biden, D-Del., a source tells ABC News, indicating in all likelihood that Biden has been officially notified that Sen. Barack Obama, D-Illinois, has selected him to be his running mate.

I’m feeling pretty good about this pick. One of the problems I have with Obama and a lot of other Democrats is that sometimes they are too afraid to speak their minds. That’s not a problem that Joe Biden has. Yes, he makes mistakes, but he says what he’s thinking, and he’s usually right.

I can’t wait to see the Biden/Romney debate. Romney will finally be revealed to be the android that he is.

Oh, and Biden’s one-liners will also be a lot of fun.

And also, foreign policy credentials, experience and all that stuff.

7 responses to “It’s Biden!

  1. Biden — the perfect foil for Palin!

  2. Ha! Dream on!

    McCain will pick Mittens, it seems.

  3. It’s true. Biden can be an attack dog if he wants to. I’m actually pretty happy with the choice.

  4. I’m pretty excited about this. Obama needed a fighter, and Biden is nothing if not a bare-knuckles fighter. Not only is he a fighter, but he’s one of the smartest guys in the Senate. Yes, he got his Iraq War vote wrong, but he’s been one of very few people – in the Senate or otherwise – who have made sense on the war in the meantime.

    McCain’s job just got harder. He’s got to find someone who can counter Biden in the debates – and in terms of stature. Palin would come up woefully short – and her recent trooper-gate issue is an unpleasant distraction at best. Romney’s a sorry, opportunistic mess of a man, but I think McCain will give him the nod. And good – I can’t wait to see Biden (whose son ships to Iraq next week) debate the asshole who said his kids were serving their county by working on his campaign.

    This is maybe the only thing that could have made me more excited about Obama.

  5. Zen! It’s great to see you. I hope you are doing well.

    Biden is coming out swinging, and I’m loving it!

  6. GB, yeah, I give Democrats a little slack on the war thing. The vote for the Iraq war was heinous, but I also understand how politics works. If they’ve made sense since 2003, I’ll forgive them. But if they continue to say their vote was correct, even given all that we know now, I’m not so forgiving.

    Biden passes that test.

    And your point about Biden vs. Mittens in the debate? Classic. I had forgotten that Mittens said his sons were serving their country by working for their dad’s campaign. Biden will tear that asshole apart.

  7. “Biden will tear that asshole apart.”
    Raford: This is my favorite line of the day!

Leave a Reply

