Sarah Palin is Ruining My Life

From Cary Tennis’ column in Salon:

And then came Sarah. My reaction to her, and the way the Republican Party threw her in our faces, and the pandering and hypocrisy that was behind their decision to do so, was immediate, visceral, and indeed, vicious. I have crossed every line I believed should never be crossed in public discourse — I have criticized not only her policies and her record, but her hair, her personal style, her accent, her abilities as a mother, etc. I’ve also begun to suffer personally and professionally. I bore my friends with my constant tirades against her, and am constantly distracted from my work by my need to continually update myself on the latest criticism, and indeed, ridicule, of her. In my hatred for her, I have begun to hate myself.

Snip

I think what disturbs us about Sarah Palin is that she reminds us of the authoritarian personality. My guess is that she is also an ESFJ, or Extroverted Sensing Feeling Judging type, with a strong preference for sensing. Such a person prefers to acquire her knowledge from concrete objects and places instead of from abstract ideas. This would explain why she thinks being geographically close to Russia is a form of foreign policy expertise.

As an authoritarian type, she strikes us as a person who prefers power to reason. The people running John McCain’s campaign seem to instinctively understand the uses to which such an impression can be put. Perhaps they know better than we do how deeply the American people long to be done with the problem of democracy, to yield to a powerful father-mother pair of authoritarians.

The very thing that appalls us about Sarah Palin — her discomfort in the realm of reason — is her main selling point. This is so mind-boggling that you have to take a minute to let it in. Take a deep breath. Read that sentence again. Face it: Sarah Palin represents what many people want: a retreat from reason; a regression to childhood.

I’ve been a bit obsessed with Palin, too, so I spent a couple of weeks trying not to obsess. I discontinued my Daily Palin, as I feared that if it had continued, my obsession would be clear for all the world to see. My Aunt Mimi is even more obsessed than I and has even spent some time in the library researching Palin in hopes of findiing some nugget of Palin’s vileness that no one else has.

And I think Tennis is pretty right in his analysis. So many of us are appalled by the idea of Palin as president, not because she is a conservative Christian, but more by the fact that she doesn’t know very much and doesn’t seem to care that she’s ignorant in many areas. It’s that aggressive ignorance thing.

And what makes matters worse is that there are millions of Americans who buy into the whole Palin thing because “She’s a Christian and she knows what it’s like to be a mom.”

Well, the same is true of my next-door neighbor, and she will never even think about trying to become Vice President.

2 responses to “Sarah Palin is Ruining My Life

  1. I laugh at your obsession because I’ve shared it as well. She astounds on a daily basis and I can’t keep the fuck up! She’s like a bad soap opera or bad Reality TV. What trainwreck will there be today? What could she possibly say or do that could be worse than yesterday? What will McCain do next to block her/hide her/spin her? What new info will we learn? In the first 3 days of her being announced as VP I was overwhelmed with the crap about her. Damn, she is entertaining. And Tina Fey just nails her each time. And the parody ain’t too far from the truth, right? She’s like the gift that keeps on giving. But my only hope is that in 30+ days, she disappears back to where she came from and we’re free again!

  2. Thanks!

    It really is an odd obsession, and I’ve realized why I don’t seem to watch many entertainment programs these days.

    The Sarah Palin show is my new entertainment, and like you, I can’t wait to see how she will fuck up next.

    I’m with you in that I’m hoping that her debate with Biden will be the Superbowl of Palinness. I’m thinking there will be a lot of material to keep us rolling through election day, after which she will return to Alaska to finish out her term as governor and then go away forever.

Leave a Reply

