Obama and McCain in Indiana: Still too Close to Call

Hard to believe:

A new poll shows the race between Democrat Barack Obama and Republican John McCain remains tight in Indiana about a week before the Nov. 4 election.

The South Bend Tribune/WSBT-TV poll released Tuesday found Obama supported by 48 percent of likely voters and McCain supported by 47 percent. The poll, taken Thursday through Saturday, has a margin of error of plus or minus 4 percentage points.

In May, if you asked me who was going to win Indiana, Obama or McCain, my automatic response would be McCain. A Democrat, much less an African-American Democrat winning Indiana? It seemed impossible.

But beyond looking at the polls that look favorable to Obama in this state’s race, I take a look at what I see in the rural city where I work.

City is probably the wrong word. It’s a town of about 20,000 people or fewer. It’s rural and has been solidly GOP in the past. But I drive around and Obama bumper stickers seem to outnumber McCain stickers 5-1 while it’s probably even in the yard sign war. People I talk to seem to be solidly pro-Obama.

This evidence is all anecdotal, and I think in the end, McCain will win the state. But things are looking damn good in a state that Kerry lost by 20 points.

I’ll be taking election day off to get people to the polls. I hope you consider doing the same.

We can do this!

5 responses to “Obama and McCain in Indiana: Still too Close to Call

  1. Things here in Virginia look very good. But I’m still nervous. Very nervous.

    I’m also taking the day off next Tuesday to drive people to the polls, and will be out canvasing this weekend. I’ll be jealous of all those in Grant Park in Chicago that night!!!!

  2. GB, so glad to hear that things in VA are looking good. I don’t know VA like you do, but I’m feeling much better about Obama in VA than I am about him in IN, but what do I know?

    I’m also glad that you’ll be getting to work this weekend and on Tuesday. We’re going to do this!!

    Man, I feel the same way you do about being in Grant Park in Chicago on Tuesday night. I live a lot closer than you do, and I really want to be there, but ugh. How can I take off two days from my shelter which is facing its own economic crisis.

  3. Here is a 67 page academic research paper on:
    “An Examination of Obama’s Use of Hidden Hypnosis Techniques in His Speeches”

    http://www.pennypresslv.com/Obama%27s_Use_of_Hidden_Hypnosis_techniques_in_His_Speeches.pdf

    Here is an exerpt:
    *Obama’s hypnotic command that…

    “a light will shine down from somewhere, it will light upon you, you will experience an epiphany, and you will say to yourself, ‘I have to vote for Barack’”

    An example of Obama using both of these hypnotic hand gestures, hypnotic programming followed by hypnotic anchor back to back, in a way that can be nothing other than hypnosis: You can See the video of this speech excerpt:

    Video Example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mopkn0lPzM8

  4. Darren, wow.

    You quote Obama when he was obviously being sarcastic and then link us to an odd pennypress article that distorts the issues in a funny way.

    And then you use a McCain commercial as evidence that Obama thinks he is a holy man?

    If you want to smear Obama, I think there are other ways to do so that might be more effective.

  5. Good stuff, Darren. Good stuff.

    Anyway, turning back to reality. Virginia feels good right now, and I think the poll numbers would bear this out. The CNN poll out today has Obama up by nine (9) here – now, I don’t know that I think it will be that high, but I think a 3-4 point victory isn’t unreasonable, which is what Marist is showing in another poll.

    There is a lot of energy here for Obama. There has been all through the late summer and fall. His rally in Richmond about one week ago was heavily attended. My sister went to it and said that you could just feel the excitement coming off the crowd.

Leave a Reply

