That’s Irritainment!

I don’t know why I did this, but while flipping around the TV, I came across  I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here!

Wow!

If you’re not familiar with the concept, think of “Survivor” with “celebrities”who have to perform “challenges” like eating bugs to avoid being thrown off the “island.” And they fight. And then they pray.

The Fundie Balwin was one, as were Lou Diamond Phillips (has his career collapsed?), a woman named Janice Dickinson who always looks drunk, Patty Blagojevich, a former NBA player named Salley, Sanjaya in a mowhawk, and then a bunch more people that I’ve never seen before. There also was a woman named Heidi who apparently was on something called “The Hill” and her petulant husband named Spencer who is a new Christian (his wife says that’s the reason he’s such an asshole) and who fancies himself as the “King of America.” And there were three other women, one who is a wrestler or ulitmate fighter or something named Torrie and a comic team consisting of two women who call themselves Frangela.

Anyway, I didn’t see the beginning of the show, but I did see Spencer get mad at Torrie for some reason and hide her backback. Frangela made snarky remarks, while Sanjaya wandered around.

The highlight had to have been when Patty Blagojevich told her side of the story. The drunk woman totally believed her and Heidi and Spencer did too. Apparently, poor Rod was set up because he was too Christ-like or something, but he’ll prevail because the “truth” always wins. And then they prayed and ate bugs.

My problem with the show was that it was so loathesome, so empty and so completely lacking compelling personalities, that I’ll probably tune in more often than would be healthy.

7 responses to “That’s Irritainment!

  1. What I don’t get is the name of the show. They are fighting to stay on but the name implies that they want off. Maybe I’m thinking about it too much.

  2. Probably thinking is not part of the deal. It sounds excellent in an abhorrent kind of way. I don’t know if we’ll tune in, but please keep us posted if you do.

  3. Terrant, heh! Yeah, it doesn’t make a lot of sense, but those horrible people from “The Hills” left after one day….apparently they took the name of the show seriously.

    Zen, “excellent in an abhorrent kind of way” is a great description of the program. Though I missed tonight’s episode, my DVR is scheduled to record every episode (what’s wrong with me?). If it is excellently abhorrent as the first episode was, I expect to post on the show way more than I should.

  4. Don’t think there’s something wrong with you. We – including Mr. Yenta – watched every episode of Project Runway. There’s not a fashionable bone in any of our bodies. Mr. Yenta owns one suit for weddings and funerals and the rest of his wardrobe is jeans and shirts. I go to work in jeans most days and my first reaction to getting an invitation to a sp;ecial thing is, “Oh, shit, now I’ll have to get dressed up.” And yet, there we were, critiquing fashion designs. Teevee has mysterious powers.

  5. Last night Missy was watching the second episode of this awful show. I paused just long enough to groan when the crappy Baldwin and the prick were talking about an impromptu Baptism. I watched just long enough to see Surreal Life reality vet Janice Dickinson object because Baldy wasn’t an ordained minister. I keep expecting Lou Diamond Phillips to smack someone. It’s sad that the most likeable of the contestants is Sanjaya.
    I told Missy not to delete it. I too must watch this train wreck.

  6. MrG, thank god you get it about GMOHIAC!

    I anticipate we’ll have a blast this summer watching the poor production values, obnoxious cast of unknowns.

    Can’t wait to snark with you about GMOHIAC.

  7. Pingback: Dispointment: Irrititing People I’ve Never Heard of Seem to Have Not Been Tortured in Jungle « Blog de Ford

Leave a Reply

